Back to Kid' Voices Michael

Hi. My name is Michael. I am 10 years old. I live in Bristol, which is in England.

I have had diabetes since July 2002. I give myself up to 6 injections a day and do several blood tests which I do find a bit of a nuisance. As I have been a diabetic now for nearly 6 years I take it in my stride now.

My mum decided to take me to the doctors because I was drinking all the time, even getting up in the night to have a drink. They discovered my blood sugars were very high -- 18-19 mmol/l (324-342 mg/dl). I stayed in hospital for a week and my mum and dad learnt how to do blood test and injections.

Having diabetes does not stop me at all from doing things. I play football for a team where I am the goalkeeper. I love swimming, playing with LEGO, reading and playing with my friends.

You can email my mum at sue2williams AT


Published January 27, 2008

  Home Return to Top

Last Updated: Sunday January 27, 2008 12:55:00
This Internet site provides information of a general nature and is designed for educational purposes only. If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other health care professional.

This site is published by T-1 Today, Inc. (d/b/a Children with Diabetes), a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, which is responsible for its contents.
By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Legal Notice, and Privacy Policy.
© Children with Diabetes, Inc. 1995-2015. Comments and Feedback.